May 2017-May 2018

The mission of the National Board for the Certification of Ophthalmic Executives (NBCOE) is to advance the field of ophthalmic administration by developing and maintaining criteria and procedures for conducting a valid and reliable national certification examination. The NBCOE is responsible for setting policy, developing procedures and suggesting guidelines for the Certified Ophthalmic Executive (COE) certification program in accordance with the NBCOE Bylaws. The COE program is the property of the American Society of Ophthalmic Administrators (ASOA).

The NBCOE consists of nine (9) voting members, including seven (7) At-Large Members and two (2) Standing Members (an ASCRS representative and the ASOA Immediate Past President). The ASOA Executive Director serves as a non-voting, ex-officio member. All At-Large Members and the ASOA Immediate Past President must be currently credentialed COEs. At-Large Members are elected by a majority vote of active COEs. At-Large Members many not run simultaneously for, or serve as, an At-Large Member on the ASOA Governing Board of Directors. The NBCOE Officers are President, President-Elect and Vice President. NBCOE officers are elected by majority vote of the NBCOE members.

Both Officers and Board Members begin their terms at the end of the NBCOE meeting held in conjunction with the Annual Congress. At-Large Board Members serve three (3) year terms and Officers serve one (1) year terms. The NBCOE members meet quarterly via conference call and once in person during the ASOA Annual Congress. The President may call other meetings on an “as-needed” basis for special projects or matters needing immediate attention.